And the slacking continues…

Not sure why blogging has been so hard lately! Here’s what’s been going on around the farm:

Family

My Dad and Sister have been up here for the last week, and it’s been so nice to have time all together! I can’t even remember the last time that we’ve had more than a week as the 4-pack.

Jenna (sister) has been obsessed with her new fur-baby, Sully, and has been buying every possible canine accessory one could need. For my first fur-nephew, I even purchased a nice, reversible dog bed for her from Overstock. I will admit to being a tad jealous of the cat carrier that she bought for him – with a handle! How small and easy to transport, compared to the monstrous-sized crates for my 50+ lb dogs….

Vegetables

The garden is in full swing now. Corn is up, baby tomatoes are on the plants, and the squash plants are ready to take off. It’s so nice to be able to go outside and get fresh herbs/chives/lettuce/onions as you cook dinner! I’ll have pictures as things are ready for harvest.

Local Adventures

With the last few days of the four-pack at the farm this weekend, we tried to squeeze in a few East Tennessee adventures.

Tuckaleechee Caverns is within 30 minutes from me, and I’ve always heard great things, yet had never been. My dad, sister and I went Friday afternoon and had a great time! Compared to the other caves I’ve visited in East TN (Ruby Falls, The Lost Sea), Tuckaleechee Caverns was much more impressive and authentic. No colored lights and music please! We had a great time exploring the caves (with a guide!).  I would show you some pictures, but they’re pretty blurry (wish my camera had a cave setting…).

Yesterday involved a drive down through the towns of Lenoir City, Loudon and Sweetwater. Small towns in East Tennessee with charming downtown areas (although some are showing signs of the poor economy) with lots of thrift stores, yard sales and antique shops! I may have come home with a couple of things….

DSCN1543the black snowflake Pyrex is mine!!

 

DSCN1544we found this arm chair in GREAT shape for only $25! 
I think it will go splendidly with the 2 bookshelves ($50) that we just finished painting white and adding the bead board backing. Lovely :)
 

We also stopped in at Sweetwater Valley Farm, a local cheese-producing dairy, and I ate my weight in cheese samples! Their cheese curds were TO-DIE-FOR, and the pesto cheese was also amazing. Sadly, their oldest, sharpest cheese (usually my favorite cheese) was not good at all. Can’t beat Cabot!

Florida

As we speak, the rest of my family is in the family vehicle, driving down to Florida. I will join them tomorrow after work, for some time at Disney and Orlando, and then we’ll head over to Tampa to see more family.

Leave a Reply

