Eating like a dietitian

Stopped at Kroger today on my way home from work. My shopping bag was filled with:

  1. Clementines – on sale, I hope this was a good batch!
  2. Broccoli – also on sale. my garden’s broccoli have gone to seed, I guess it’s too hot to grow them now??
  3. Zucchini – in a few months I’ll have homegrown, organic zucchini coming out of my ears, but for now I pay $1/lb for Kroger’s version and plan to create mock “crab” cakes and delicious muffins
                                           remembering last year’s harvest……zucchini 002
  4. Mushrooms – I buy the “baby bella” type for maximum flavor; these guys will be featured in tonight’s dinner!
  5. Biscoff spread – I almost wish I never discovered this jar of deliciousness. Definitely my “whoa” purchase of the day
  6. Clif Mojo bars – I pick up a few of these when they’re on sale. Unlike granola bars, I find that these guys actually fill me up – thanks to the healthy nuts, dried fruits, and maybe some chocolate… :)
  7. Special K cereal – this is the chocolate variety. I know, I am a chocolate-addict. But it’s better than a candy bar, and a nice crunchy snack!
  8. All Bran wheat flakes – to mix in with the above cereal and boost the fiber and nutrient profile

~~~~~~

I spent most of my after-work hours in the kitchen today, working on 2 wonderful recipes. Both of these feature super ingredient combinations!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins
mmmmmm. My sister has a recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies that are to die for (quite literally) because they are filled with oil and sugar.
This recipe I found is lower on the oil and sugar side, and still tastes delicious. Since I still have a few cans of pumpkin in the pantry, I figured it would be wise to start using them up before the move.

Julia Child’s Leek and Mushroom Quiche
I cheated, sorry Julia. Pillsbury’s frozen pie crust was used for tonight’s dinner, as I was too stressed and frantic to make the dough from scratch. But I have done it before!
The leeks in the quiche were from the garden – we have tons of them that pop up without having ever been planted. Delicious!
Cheat #2 – 1% milk was used in place of heavy cream. I just can’t do it Julia. My arteries harden at the thought.
My Martha Stewart baby yellow dutch oven is the star of the show to make this quiche and cook down the leeks & mushrooms until they caramelize. mmmm
DSCN1139

~~~~~
And now this dietitian is going to sit down and watch House, while trying to figure out how to pay for graduate school, which suddenly became a year longer than I was initially planning for! :(

Leave a Reply

