Oh my gourd!

Don’t you love vegetable humor? :D

DSCN0852

The summer garden has finally come to a close. This is an assortment of ornamental gourds (the warty guys), pumpkins and spaghetti squash. Funny thing is that none of these were planted (except for the one spaghetti squash plant I found at Lowe’s) so they must have appeared from 2009’s old trashed pumpkins.

DSCN0851

If it weren’t for such a dry summer, and my neglect, I’m sure these pumpkins could’ve gotten a lot larger. I just hope they last until my talk with the kindergarten students about pumpkins. I want to show them what I grew in my very own garden!

DSCN0857

Would you like to know my go-to recipe for spaghetti squash? Well, alright then, here it is:

Spaghetti Squash Casserole

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 Tbsp canolive (my 50/50 blend of canola and olive oils)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic (~ 2 cloves)
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 2 chopped roma tomatoes (or canned, whatever is on hand)
  • 1 cup 1% cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup part-skim mozzarella
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan
  • 3 Tbsp seasoned bread crumbs
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Wash squash. Cut in half lengthwise, remove seeds.
  3. Place face down in baking dish, add 1” water and bake 30 minutes. When tender, carefully scrape out the “spaghetti strands”
  4. Put cooked spaghetti squash aside
  5. Heat oil in skillet over med-high heat. Cook garlic, onions, basil 4 minutes to soften. Add tomatoes and cook 3 minutes.
  6. Mix bread crumbs and parmesan. Set aside.
  7. In a very large mixing bowl (preferable vintage pyrex), combine the squash with all other ingredients
  8. Pour into greased 9×13 baking dish
  9. Top with crumb mixture
  10. Bake for ~30 minutes, until hot and bubbly

Delicious! I think Harmo would like it :)

DSCN0858

One Response

  1. Great blog. Apart from the fact I eat meat, we have so much in common. You are such a Pyrex Collective person it’s not funny.
    Erin

Leave a Reply

