New Uses for Squash

No need to remind any of you that I’m being overrun with squash this summer – both the straight neck, heirloom yellow squash, and the zucchini that I planted a few months ago.

This week I decided to tackle pizza as my next use for squash. I present to you the results.

Squash Pizza #1

This was a more traditional type of pizza, using thinly sliced yellow squash as a topping. If any of my tomatoes decide to turn red, they would’ve been used too, but alas I had to turn to a Kroger tomato.

Started with a whole-wheat Boboli pizza crust.

Add sliced tomatoes, sliced squash, and fresh basil and oregano from your garden

DSCN0603Add cheese and bake

 DSCN0605

Not bad! If I were to make this again, I’d probably use sauce instead of just the tomato slices. The whole wheat crust makes it seem dry as it is, so sauce is a must. But not bad!

Zucchini “Pizza”

This is a recipe that sounds like a dietitian’s dream, and yet it was recommended to me by one of the staff from my hospital’s kitchen, so I felt it must be good.

Basically, you use grated zucchini as the crust for the pizza! An awesome use for one of the monstrous zucchinis I’ve been pulling out of my garden.

See the size selection I have to choose from? haha

zucchini 002

Crust recipe:

  • 3 cups grated zucchini (pressed, drained, squeezed, whatever you like to get out the excess water)
  • 1/2 cup flour (I used whole wheat, of course)
  • 3 eggs

Press crust mixture into 9×13 casserole dish, bake at 400 for 10-15 minutes until dry/firm/crusty.

zucchini 003

Then, add whatever toppings you like and bake at 350 for 25 minutes. I chose broccoli (my favorite pizza topping!), herbs, and cheeses.  Voila!

zucchini 004

So, there are some pizza recipes for you to drool over. Today I’m baking batches of zucchini muffins to snacks, because surprise surprise there are more zucchini out there in the garden!! :)

Leave a Reply

