Today’s creations

A creative day – both in nutrition and needlework

(haha, I know I’ve been killin’ it with the recent alliterations. They’re too much fun!)

E is for Embroidery

I took my newly purchased embroidery supplies to work today, and practiced some of the basic stitches today at work while patients were in group therapy. I’ve enjoyed the beginning stitching tutorials from sublime stitching, peptogirl, and early bird special. Thanks guys – saves me from having to buy a book!

This afternoon I decided to try out an actual design – copying a free pattern of a cupcake (what else do you expect from me?) from peptogirl. After having some difficulties threading needles (it’s been a long time) and getting the right number of strands figured out (6 works better than 8), I ended up with this!

DSCN0337

Close up:

DSCN0339

Not bad for my first project! And really didn’t take more than 20 minutes – part of which were spent out on the hammock with the border collie (dangerous, I know), while the rest were inside on the couch while watching last night’s Big Bang Theory (love that show!)

S is for Super Salad

Another project based on a purchase from this weekend in Nashville :)

While in Whole Foods (to buy my squash seeds) I picked up the whole-wheat naan that I love so dearly.

image I used it tonight in a flatbread cobb salad that I haven’t made for at least a year. I discovered the recipe from tastespotting (I think) when I was living in Nashville – and loved the salad! For a vegetarian, a lot of people are surprised at my lack of salad-eating, but I’d honestly rather have my vegetables cooked than raw.

This salad looked something like this:

Toppings:

  • 1 roma tomato, chopped
  • 1 hard-cooked egg, chopped
  • 1/4 avocado, chopped
  • couple handfuls of mixed salad greens
  • tossed with 2 tsp of honey mustard dressing

All those delicious toppings are mixed in a bowl, and then plopped on a toasted naan (who had a little EVOO and italian seasonings on before going in the toaster oven).

Soooo good! Nice mix of food groups, carbs, fat and protein.

If only all salads tasted like this….

DSCN0334 

DSCN0335 

One Response

  1. I am bursting with pride at your skills.

Leave a Reply

