It’s Business Time!

A little flight o’ the conchords title for ya :)

This post is some business/news related stuff. I’ll write a fun post later…

I got some exciting stuff in the mail:

  • My official license certificate (so now I’m not only a Registered Dietitian but also a Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist in the state of Tennessee). I think it’s time to start framing these things for my office!
  • My 2010 Census form. Actually I got 2 sent to me. Since it’s law that I fill out and return the form, I didn’t know what to do with the extra one. I called the free Census hotline, and was informed to dispose of the duplicate form “in a way that makes me comfortable”. Haha, what on earth does that mean??
    • So what did I do? I mailed both back in the same envelope, with the message “duplicate copy, received in error” written on the blank form. It makes me feel better this way. Now I know some census worker won’t come trudging down my driveway.

OK now you get to hear my 2 cents on the census. As many of you know, I’m a huge fan of the government (see below…). If they had a fan page on facebook, I’d join :) So anyway, of course I took great pride and joy in filling out my very first census form. Of course.. some people out there are anti-government, or just lazy, and will not fill out this form in a timely manner (if at all). Can I just remind you of something I read earlier? For every American who doesn’t mail their form back, us taxpayers pay $52 to send out census workers to their home. If everyone mailed their Census forms back on time, we’d save $1.5billion! Since money is the bottom line for so many people, may that be enough motivation for you to get it back in the mailbox :)

And, yay for Healthcare reform passing!!! I was surprised not to hear that much about it at work today, especially since I work in a hospital.

No, I don’t think it’s a perfect bill, but I’m glad we were gutsy enough to try something. I wish so many of us weren’t so scared at helping one another, but that’s a whole ‘nother looong story.

If the bill confuses the heck out of you, here’s a nice, non-biased timeline of what this bill will do.

Time for dinner – bye!

Leave a Reply

