Back to the grind…

It’s been great to not have to return to work the day after a vacation – today has been great for catching up on housework, groceries, gym, and getting ready for the week ahead!

Unfortunately, East Tennessee hasn’t welcomed us back with sunny weather. Here’s what’s coming our way:

image

With this line of storms, some serious winds have hung around all day, which has prompted Sheff to hide in all sorts of corner spaces and tremble with fear (including the bathtub, closet, under tables, and most recently in my bed of cabbages outside). I had to take him with me to Kroger and the gym today; I couldn’t get out the door without him running to the car. Poor boy :(

Dinner was a new recipe, inspired by Dorie Greenspan’s recipe in today’s Parade magazine:  Cornbread Chili Casserole (triple Cs! haha). I modified it with no ground beef (of course), instead using a mix of kidney beans, diced tomatoes, celery, carrots and bell pepper. I found a box of Jiffy Cornbread mix in the pantry (yes, I know it has lard in it…) and threw the dish together quickly.

A really great and easy meal! Now I have a couple more dinners waiting for me. Gotta love leftovers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

