Last Day of 23

I made it safe and sound to Athens last night after dropping the dogs off at their canine resort, and fighting my way through Atlanta traffic. Seriously, this city is like none other to drive through. I think that has been one of the benefits of rural living – there’s never traffic! I may have a 20 mile commute to work, but the only time my car stops are at a couple 4-way-stops. Other than that, it’s go-go-go!

image

Down in Atlanta, it’s stop and go, all day, everyday, no matter what. Oh how I do not miss it. I even had a couple cars just stall and DIE in front of me on the interstate.

And so, once I made it around the worst of the traffic, I stopped at a Dunkin Donuts for refueling (and a bathroom break). They’re having a 99 iced latte special, so I picked one up, along with a couple chocolate donut holes. The nice man doubled my order of donut holes for free!! So that pretty much made my traffic anger disappear, instantly :)

(P.S. Dunkin Donuts is having a contest right now, for the 60th birthday, to create a new flavor of donut – the winner receives $12,000! I think I might enter. I wonder how many other dietitians would enter this? What if I won? Would that make the ADA proud?? haha)

Once I made it to Athens, my best friend and I headed downtown for dinner at an old favorite: Five Star Day Cafe, which is best described as Gourmet Soul Food. Yum. I had the “Garden of Eatin’” vegetable plate, with mac’n’cheese, BBQ baked beans (which were made vegetarian!!), a potato cake, and a cornbread muffin. Deliciously carby and filling. Oh how I love that Athens eateries are veg-friendly. East Tennessee is still workin’ on that one…

After dinner we watched some Olympics, and then switched over to Sleepless in Seattle. haha.

Today is my last day of being 23. How crazy! I brought all the birthday packages and envelopes I had received in the mail so I could open them all here – better than sitting at home alone.

One Response

  1. see? you really DO love living at the farm!!! I will make a hick out of you yet.

Leave a Reply

