Happy Valentine’s Day!

I hope you all are enjoying your Valentine’s Day, however you choose to celebrate it, or not. Even before I was dating The Boy, I always took some time to enjoy this day, wear pink/red and do something special.

So what are we doing today? Well, since it’s a Sunday, and The Boy has to head back to Nashville in less than an hour, we’ve had a lazy day, as per our usual Sundays. He slept in while I read/watched CBS Sunday Morning with the dogs, we made a veggie pasta dish for lunch, and our now watching and learning the art of Olympic Ski Jumping on TV. Oh wait, he’s asleep now on the couch. I guess sleeping until 11am isn’t enough?

We’ve had a fun Valentine’s weekend – starting with a very nice (and expensive!!) dinner at Baker Peter’s Jazz/Steak Mansion here in Knoxville. I think The Boy was slightly disappointed that I hadn’t dressed up (no skirt, no dress), but  (A) I am not a huge fan of getting dolled-up, and (B) when it’s 32 degrees outside, I’m even less likely to show skin!

He, of course, enjoyed his steak, served with some sort of veal glaze. I had planned to just order a house salad and order a vegetable side (no meatless entrees at all, unfortunately), but the waitress offered to work with the chef to create me a vegetarian pasta dish. It was excellent – even if it was $25! :(

Luckily, I had bought a $25 gift certificate from Restaurant.com for $2 (I know, a bargain!!) over Christmas, and it made a dent in our total bill. An expensive dinner for sure!

We were really looking forward to the jazz, which turned out to be right behind our table, so we could hear it really well. Of course, that also meant that the jazz was ALL we could hear, and ended up having to shout to each other by the end of our meal. And with no percussion/drum set anywhere to be found, The Boy declared it “not real jazz” so we didn’t hang around much longer after we finished our meal.

~~~

The celebration continued on Saturday. We didn’t end up going to the Mardi Growl Pet Parade due to the cold weather (seriously Spring, where ARE you!!!??), but hung around the house during the morning. We ran some errands in the afternoon (haircut, Lowe’s, TJ Maxx) and then headed down to Knoxville in the evening for dinner/movie.

We had appetizers at Oodles Uncorked, in Market Square – which looked like a really fun restaurant! It was booked solid (I guess V-day reservations) so we ate in the bar /wine lounge, and enjoyed a couple appetizers before our movie. During happy hour, the earlier you order the cheaper the price, so our appetizers, ordered at 5:55 cost us $5:55 (reg $6.50). We thought that was a clever idea!

The movie was, of course, Valentine’s Day. I know The Boy wasn’t psyched to see it, but I was happy that he was willing to see it with me. I used Fandango for the first time to purchase my tickets online, which made things a breeze, especially when the theater was so packed!!

I loved the movie, and he did not. Predictable, yes, but it’s a chick flick!

OK, more skiing to watch. Later!

Leave a Reply

