The craze of low-calorie circle bread!

Last year during our internship, a few of us fell in love with Arnold’s Sandwich Thins. They were great for sandwiches and the like, and sometimes we’d bring them to the hospital cafeteria to make our own lower-calorie sandwich. Even for a bread-lover like me, there are times when you wish you weren’t spending so many calories on the bread, and could feel better about splurging on the sandwich’s contents. And so… basically bread with the guts taken out:

image

I guess they must be a big hit because lately I’ve been seeing that almost every other bread brand has come out with their own! I most recently tried Earthgrains Whole Wheat Thin Buns as part of my latest breakfast obsession: egg and cheese sandwich. I buy the slices of provolone cheese at Kroger (which conveniently are the exact same size as the thin bun), toast it up and add a fried egg in the middle. Excellent low fat, whole-grain, high-protein breakfast!!

imageI couldn’t really tell a difference between the Arnold and the Earth Grains products – both tasted equally wonderful, with comparable nutrition facts.

Then, last Sunday’s paper had a coupon for the Pepperidge Farm Deli Flats. I set off to Kroger to try them out, but found that every other brand of circle bread was on sale, except for Pepperidge Farm, so the coupon will be saved for another time.

imageIt is somewhat hysterical to me how all the bread companies are making these exact products. I figured they’re all interchangeable, so I went with the cheapest one on the store’s shelves: Nature’s Own Sandwich Rounds (also 100% whole wheat, of course)

image The only 2 benefits of the Nature’s Own variety is that it’s cheaper than the others, and it has the zip lock/ resealable packaging. However, when I used it for my breakfast sandwich yesterday, I found the bread to be so much thinner than the other brands – almost like a cracker! So, I won’t be buying these again.

OK, so to summarize: for all you low-calorie, whole-wheat, round sandwich bread lovers, here’s the round-up

  • Arnold’s Sandwich Thins
  • Earth Grains Thin Buns
  • Pepperidge Farms Deli Flats
  • Nature’s Own Sandwich Rounds

They’re all pretty much the same nutritional stats: 100 calories, 1g fat, 5g fiber, 5g protein, 100% whole-wheat. They all seem to cost between $2-3 per pack, which isn’t bad to make 8 sandwiches out of! 

So far I still need to try out the Pepperidge Farms brand.. especially with my lovely coupon, but I’m still partial to the Arnolds and Earth Grains brand. Except for the fact that Earth Grains, who is trying to be all enviro-friendly with their new “Eco-Grain” products, uses a plastic tray inside a plastic bag, which just seems like excess and wasteful packaging!

Eat on, circle bread lovers!

Leave a Reply

