Dog #2

Today was the “big day” I’ve been reminding Sheff, the day I would come home from work with a friend for him!

I picked up Miss Bess on my way home. She’s so much smaller than I thought – kind of beagle-sized. I actually think she looks like a Border Collie / Corgi mix. She rode home in my car wonderfully, curled up and asleep.

The backyard was our neutral ground meeting territory. She didn’t even want to get out of the car because Sheff was barking so loud in nervous anticipation. When I finally dragged her into the yard, they started sniffing, but she has mostly ignored him ever since (she’s been here for almost 4 hours now).

So.. now I brought home Sheff a friend, and he’s excited to have someone to play with, but she won’t have anything to do with him. I feel like Sheff is even more depressed now!!

DSCN0150DSCN0148

 DSCN0149 DSCN0151

Miss Bess is definitely a people-dog, not a dog-dog. She sticks to me like glue, sits right at my feet and follows me around. Sheff cannot figure out why she doesn’t want to play with him or do more “doggie” things.

She also won’t eat her dinner. We’ve tried several times, and she just knocks her food bowl around, and acts like she’s trying to “bury” her food with her nose. I guess when she gets hungry she’ll eventually eat.

And so.. day #1 of dog #2 = nothing great. I know it takes time for everyone to get accustomed to the new routine, so who knows what tomorrow will bring. At least she hasn’t been aggressive, although I predict that she’s fast becoming protective of me.

However, the most important thing is that I’m saving this dog and helping her find her forever home. If I hadn’t taken her today, she’d still be sitting in a boarding kennel until another foster home opened up a spot.

I’ll be taking both Miss Bess and Sheff to this weekend’s Mardi Growl Pet Parade. It should be a great opportunity for Sheff to see other dogs, and for me to see how Bess is around crowds.

2 Responses

  1. Thatch sends Bess a big hello corgi woof! He is actually quite pleased to hear that she’s sticking close to her new person and sympathizes with the plight of this other dog trying to play with her. He advises to give in sometimes and play for a bit, but to let him know who’s boss. That’s his advice from one corgi to another (part).

  2. give her time…she knows you are the Top Dog, so must butter you up, as you drive and provide the grub. Try hand feeding her some scrambled eggs. Get her something to herd (mice? hahaha)

Leave a Reply

