Today’s Favorite Things

Tennis 

Federer is still on a roll! I could really care less about the women’s tennis… although I’ll admit I wish Henin could power through the Williams sisters, but I’m not sure she has it in her.

Chili  and Cornbread! 

Now that winter seems to have returned, I decided to spend my Monday evening making a big pot of chili and a pan of cornbread.

I based my recipe off one from an old Better Homes and Gardens I picked up for free at the library’s book sale last weekend.

Elizabeth’s 2-Bean Chili

DSCN0145

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1-2 Tbsp EVOO
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes (no-salt-added!)
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can kidney beans (or pinto!)
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • 2 Tbsp Chili Seasoning

Sautee chopped onion and oregano in EVOO over medium heat for a few minutes. Add the rest of ingredients, simmer on low, for as long as you like. I think mine ended up cooking for about an hour while I got my cornbread ready (found a box of Krusteaz Honey Cornbread in the pantry and it was deelish!)

I have now portioned out all my leftover chili, for at least another 4 meals, and am debating what to do with all the leftover cornbread. Any ideas???

This commercial – gets me laughing every time!

Coffee!

This weekend, Kathy and I put away a good bit of coffee, and finished off my latest creamer – Belgian Chocolate Toffee. Today I picked up the next variety to try:

image

I also saw this new Starbucks variety… and I think it needs to be tried out. Flavors of hazelnut and milk chocolate… what more do I need??

image

OK better sign off… Sheff is barking at the chili leftovers cooling on the stove.. I suppose willing them to leap into his mouth. Hahaha

Leave a Reply

