Tubing fun

Kathy and I had a blast at Ober Gatlinburg yesterday at their new Snow Tubing. Well worth the $25! I was even brave enough to go down the slopes backwards – surprisingly it was much more fun that way!

DSCN0134

DSCN0139

 

DSCN0141 

The weather was gorgeous, it got up to mid-50s with sun and felt great! After our 2 hour tubing time, we headed out to a lookout for our packed lunch – PB and banana sandwiches, clementines and some Gatlinburg fudge (Mississippi Mud, chosen in honor of our Mississippi friend who missed out on the tubing adventures with us).

We relaxed a little back at the farm in the afternoon – Miss Kathy had several loads of laundry to catch up on – before heading out to Knoxville for an early dinner (tubing works up an appetite!).

Dinner was at our beloved Mellow Mushroom… starting out with the pizza pretzels and then splitting a small pizza with pesto, mushrooms, spinach, feta, and tomatoes. Delicious! After snarfing the pretzels, we only ate a slice of pizza each… leaving me some wonderful leftovers for later on today!

Dessert was my first Knoxville Cupcake adventure. Kathy and I always delight in seeking out new bakeries in any city we visit… and so I looked up what Knoxville had to offer. According to my local “Knoxville Eats” guide, Magpies Bakery is the best bakery in town, but they weren’t open late on Saturday, so we visited The Cupcakery.

image I chose the red velvet cupcake, while Kathy went with the Peanut Butter Cup variety (chocolate cupcake with PB frosting!).

DSCN0144

After dinner, we came back and enjoyed our dessert (I chose to accompany my cupcake with a glass of cold milk, Kathy went with vanilla ice cream. Both excellent choices)

An early bedtime called us, although I was awakened by a wicked and windy storm at 4am, and Sheff climbing into a box of my t-shirts in the closet, trying to hide. Poor dear. Luckily, I’ve been through his neurotic phases enough now that I can give him his sedative, buried in peanut butter, and coax him into his pop-up crate, while still half-asleep. He’s still a little nervy now, but better.

Kathy and I enjoyed a lazy morning catching up over some coffee and cinnamon raisin toast, before she headed back on the road for Charlotte, doing her best to beat the storm front that’s moving through.

It’s always so nice to catch up with friends! Now I have a Sunday afternoon to look forward to, getting some housework done, and a new workout to try (2nd Netflix choice – Self’s Best Butt Fast! hahaha )

One Response

  1. […] joy of tubing, both on snow and […]

Leave a Reply

