Post Thanksgiving Message

Happy Black Sunday!

STP82520

That’s our lovely table set for Thanksgiving meal. Good food had by all 10 of us at the farm!

  • Turkey – I will say that we wanted and attempted to purchase a locally raised turkey… but the $90 turkey breast we came across was a little out of our league :(
  • Cranberry Sauce
  • My “Gourmet Potatoes” – (aka mashed potatoes with sour cream, butter and cheese… always a hit!)
  • Sweet Potato Casserole
  • Mass quantities of Sister Schubert’s yeast rolls
  • Green Beans
  • Stuffing – I tried a fun new recipe from food network with apple, cranberries and sausage…. excuse me… soysage :)
  • Jell-o salad
  • For dessert: my wonder pumpkin cheesecake and my sister’s spice cake

Yum yum yum!

Black Friday shopping?? Not as successful. I didn’t get up at 5am as planned…. ended up leaving the house with my dad at 7am, only to be called back home to help my uncle who’s car was stuck in the mud! They were on their way back to Florida, and pulled off the driveway to check for something… little did they know about our quicksand-like driveway! I called AAA, but my dad and uncle (2 engineer brothers) were able to pull it out with a rope and toyota engine. haha.

So… got to Target (who had by far the best deals) at 8:30am, only to see that everything was gone. Darn.

Lesson learned? Now that it’s a 2 day sale – go back the second day, the shelves are re-stocked and the crowds are gone!

I picked up some cheap DVDs, and got a new camera!! Christmas present :)

A great bargain at $88! I’ve been wanting a nice small camera that’s easier to tote around than my current one. I don’t think this new camera will take better pictures, but now I’ll have both to choose from :)

Yesterday was a fun day – lunch in Market Square, and a Lady Vols game against UCLA. We just squeaked by. How I miss the amazing Lady Vols team from a few years ago!

The rest of the afternoon was spent watching football games:

  • FSU vs Florida – my cousin here goes to FSU, and the rest of us hate Florida
  • Tennessee vs Kentucky – obviously cheering for the vols
  • Georgia vs GA Tech – so excited that we won. I think Russ (the interim bulldog) must be good luck!
  • Arkansas vs LSU – the house was divided on this one, but LSU managed to pull out a win

Today…. cleaning up, The Blind Side, and hopefully getting a Christmas Tree up!

Leave a Reply

