Domestic Thursday

I’ve done lots of house cleaning today after work… getting ready for the intern reunion this weekend at the farm!! 5 former interns, now RDs, are meeting up for a weekend of fun and catching up!

Went gymming after work for some interval training on the treadmill and a few weights. I try to jump on the weight machines as soon as I get there (although I know it’s better to let your muscles warm up first with some cardio) before that part of the gym gets packed with intimidating strong people :)

While treadmill-ing and moving along to Coldplay, I saw all the Fort Hood news on the TV screens. As soon as I left the gym, I called my sister – who’s a student at UT-Austin, to see if anything was happening in Austin about it. Of course, she had no idea what I was talking about. But it looks like they caught the guy (well, killed him more like it) so no one else is at risk. And then to hear that he’s a medical doctor who works in mental health?! Brilliant. Maybe that’s what happens when you work with these crazy patients for too long – they rub off on you! Lord I hope not! Get me out of the psych hospital before that happens!

Today I had my first true eating disorder patients – scared me to death because I have no idea how to handle them. Well, really it’s the patients who are scared to death. A had a 13 year old anorexic girl who is determined to get to 85 pounds and will not be happy until she does. She eats 300-350 calories on a good day and beats herself up if she eats more than 500. Good lord! I had her in tears with the suggestion of drinking the 2% milk that is served to her. It’ll be a long journey….. I just feel so helpless working with this population, because they have these messed up beliefs so ingrained in them, what could I possibly do?!

Oh goodness. Now I’m heating up a Gardenburger Chik’n Patty, to be served on a Trader Joes Naan with Laughing Cow Cheese. It’s kinda a cheater dinner tonight; I wasn’t in the mood to cook after getting all that cleaning done.

But yay for tomorrow being Friday, and for the beautiful weekend weather ahead!

Enjoy your Thursday night – don’t forget to watch The Office!!

Leave a Reply

