Being a canine mom

Sunday in the smokies…. it’s a surprisingly beautiful day out. After a week of gray drizzlyness, we finally got sunshine today.

My parents left for Texas at 4am. They’re somewhere in Louisiana as we speak, with Annie (crazy black mini lab) and Neuman (chubby ninja beagle)… leaving me with Sheff!

STP82020

He’s doing ok without his siblings thus far. Definitely confused though. Every little noise gets his attention, like he’s expecting them to come barreling through the door any minute. But I think he’s enjoying having all the attention, dog beds, and not having to compete at dinner time.

After doing some household cleaning/organizing this morning and enjoying the sunshine outside, I took Sheff to town for his first professional pedicure. He absolutely hates having his nails clipped, and since PetsMart will do it for a mere $9 I figured we’d give it a shot. He was super excited to be going for a ride in Matrix (probably thought he was going to meet up with the rest of his family somewhere), and was fairly overwhelmed when we got to PetsMart – animals and food everywhere!

He did very well for his pedicure – I was afraid he might nip the staff due to his high level of fear/anxiety, but he was really good, and the girl was finished in no time at all. As a reward, he picked out a nice smoked pig femur to gnaw on when we got home. I tried to entice him with a soft, squeaky carrot toy (he has no vegetable toys thus far), but the femur won.

Stopped at the grocery store on the way back, where I picked up a bag full of delicious honeycrisp apples ! Made a great snack with almond butter this afternoon. Now I’m on the couch, washing machine full of laundry, watching Dan in Real Life, which I think is a great fall movie. Sheff of course loves it too :)

So, a nice lazy Sunday here. Yesterday we had our first fire, and it was magnificent. But I don’t see that happening too often, without someone else to start/control it. I’m not a big fan of flames myself, just sitting by them for their warmth.

Dinner tonight? Mostly likely a combination of leftovers – baked beans, roasted potatoes, bean soup. haha.

And then, back to work tomorrow. Hopefully nothing nuts happened over the weekend. I bet my patient with megacolon is still there. Which means I still have to figure out what that is and what I’m supposed to do for it as a dietitian! haha

Have a great night! Oh, and Brothers and Sisters is on! Now that I’m DVR-equipped, I won’t have to stay up until 11pm if I don’t want to. Awesome… :)

Leave a Reply

