Saturday Happenings

Good evening!

We’ve had a good Saturday so far. I was quite surprised to sleep until 9am this morning! The Knoxville Farmers Market opened at 9, but by the time we got ready, out the door and drove into knoxville (~30-40 minutes) it was a little after 11.

The market was actually very quiet today – probably due to the cool weather (60ish) and the mass quantities of people making their way to Neyland Stadium for the game that was about the start. I only had $5 in cash, so we weren’t able to pick up much:

  • crown of broccoli
  • a few heirloom tomatoes
  • a couple of yellow squash

There were some really interesting looking stalls: homemade soaps, dog treats/food, a cupcake stand (will be back for a review!!), and one from a local bakery. Still haven’t been able to find super low prices at farmers markets, but we press on. The market here runs through Thanksgiving, so hopefully I can make another trip at some point.

Next was a trip to Sam’s Club, which I haven’t visited in at least a year. I stocked up on a few of my food staples in bulk: Arnold’s Sandwich Thins, Stacy’s Pita Chips, Mini Babybells, Quaker Oatmeal Squares. I also finally gave into the hype and bought the 2010 edition of “Eat This, Not That.

eatthisnotthat

I guess every RD should have a copy in her arsenal. If it will fit in my lab coat pocket, I might use it with patients. Visuals certainly are more effective than just listening to my voice say “No fried foods…. eat plenty of fruits and vegetables… try to get rid of sugary drinks”. I must sound like a broken record sometimes!

I really do wish that Mr Zinczenko found an RD to work with him on this book, especially after it’s become so popular and he’s written so many books to follow it. He means well, and it’s a simple, easy-to-read book, but I can’t agree with everything he says.

This lunch was a plate of baked scoops with salsa and leftover refried beans. Yum yum. Dinner for tonight will be some more of our favorite mock crab cakes, with a side of seasoned black beans/corn salsa. Yum!

I also picked up a pair of slippers from Target this afternoon. Priced at $5.99, I was ecstatic when they rang up $1.48!! Gotta love Target.

Pretty pumped about getting the coupons tomorrow. Super nerd, I know. I’m also hoping to get up early and a workout in at the gym before the rest of the day gets away from me. AND…. we signed up for Dish TV today, so Monday will bring me 100 channels (92 more than we have now!) and a DVR!!! :)

Leave a Reply

