Pumpkins and Prostitutes

As part of fun fall food, I have been trying out new pumpkin recipes. Last weekend, in Nashville, I treated myself to my first Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte. A great drink, certainly, but something I probably wouldn’t order all the time. Today, I stumbled upon a recipe to make your own Pumpkin Spice Latte at home. A simple recipe, and definitely cheaper! If only I had saved a tablespoon of canned pumpkin from this afternoon’s baking adventure, I could be sipping away on one as we speak….

This afternoon’s baking adventure: I had a craving to bake something with pumpkin, so I did a quick tastespotting search to see what delicious recipes I could find. I landed on a delicious, low-calorie, fat-free recipe for Chocolate Pumpkin Muffin Tops. Oooh I know, you’re salivating already. Super simple recipe:

1 boxed cake mix (I used devil’s food, but spice cake would also be awesome paired with the pumpkin)

1 15oz can canned pumpkin

1/4 cup chocolate chips, roughly chopped

Mix all ingredients in large mixing bowl. Drop cookies by 2Tbsp onto cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake at 375 for 12-14 minutes. Batch makes ~36 cookies, ~50 calories each!

In all my excitement, I forgot to take a picture, but trust me when I say they’re delicious, rich and chocolatey. :)

As for the other part of this post (for those of you who cannot figure out why I would call a post Pumpkins and Prostitutes):

I came across a new vegetarian restaurant in the Knoxville area, named “Veg-O-Rama” (creative name I know). Their menu is online, and after reading it I was left in hysterics. Many of their menu items claim to be ho-made”. Never seeing this version of what I presume is homemade, I was left wondering if their chef/cook is a prostitute. Haha, OK, it was funny at the time. Maybe you had to be there :)

Leave a Reply

