Back in the 21st century!

So excited to report to you that today I got high-speed, wireless internet at the farm!!!

I cannot tell you how much I have missed using my laptop, sitting wherever I want to, and using more than 1 internet tab at a time. I got right back into google chrome, with as many tabs open as I can get :)

Google Chrome looks a little difference since we were last together. There are a bunch of themes to choose from now. I picked a lovely floral theme from Rebecca Taylor which is brightening up my screen. Wish I had this at work!

I’ve also been trying to set up my budget online with mint.com. I’ve heard great things about this sight for financial planning, and I figured that since I have a real income and all, I should be as wise as I can, (code for = saving as much as possible to fund my future journey back to graduate school). During my internship I created an excel spreadsheet to track every dollar I spent. I added up my monthly total and divided it into a bunch of categories, which I then compared month to month. But now that I’ve found that mint can do all that for you! I just have to set my budget limits for each category, and it will warn me (send a frightening email) if I get close to or exceed any category’s limit. I never set specific limits before, so I’m not sure what they should be. I figure October will just be a ‘learn-as-you-go’ month. So far, the categories I have set up are:

  • Bills/Utilities (cable (if I get it), phone, internet, electric, gym)
  • Restaurants
  • Groceries
  • Clothing
  • Personal Care (haircuts, waxing)
  • Entertainment (movies, books/magazines, concerts)
  • Shopping (misc/household purchases)

Still trying to figure out how to handle expenses for travel, gifts (will be big categories in the upcoming holiday season!), and work, since these aren’t categories I need to plan for every month. Hmm.

In the spirit of being rich (or, having a job) and celebrating high-speed internet, I took my mom out for dinner, and then maybe a vanilla cone at Sonic. yum! :)

And now, ready to watch Jim and Pam get married on The Office. How many years have we waited for this??!??

 

Leave a Reply

