The Working World

Can you believe today is the first day of fall?! I tell you, the last few days have sure felt like it – gray, rainy, cool. But today, in honor of the seasons changing, it was sunny, blue skies and mid-80s!! How lovely :)

Today was also my second day at work at the psych hospital. Lots to learn, that’s for sure. The staff are all nice for the most part, haven’t been able to meet everyone yet, but I’m getting there. The patients are not all nice, but I suppose that’s to be expected. The hospital’s census is up, mostly with angry adolescent males, so there are always fun stories floating around the nurses stations. It’s been weird to have to carry keys and unlock every door you go through, but I understand why. So far, my patients haven’t given me any serious trouble. I’ve had a few who I don’t think wanted to talk to me (nothing new for a dietitian), and a few who were angry with me, but no once has yelled or become violent. It just seems strange to approach someone who’s just tried to kill themselves and act all enthusiastic about lowering their cholesterol. How important can that really be to them? But actually, I had one patient yesterday who was very excited and motivated about getting his numbers down. I also think he wasn’t all there mentally… oh well. Lots of challenges, that’s for sure!

AND… who watched the season premiere of House last night??! A great 2 hour special from a psychiatric hospital. I have to admit, it made me a little more excited about going to work today. Too bad we don’t have House as a patient! Actually, he’d probably be the worse kind of patient to counsel. Never mind :)

One Response

  1. Thought I would let you know that I got a reference letter from Maryville City Schools for the job thingy. They had your name listed as Elizabeth Strawberry!!! I loved it, considering you are a foodie!!!!

    I sent it in, even though you have a job now, YEAH! I thought it might come in handy cause you don’t want to put all of your eggs in one basket, oops another food adage.

    Hope your job is going well!

Leave a Reply

