Back in Maryville

Yes, I made it back safe and sound to Tennessee after a whirlwind of a trip to North Carolina.

Monday: Made it to Charlotte by lunch time, after sitting on the side of a mountain for an hour while Asheville police cleared an accident (a tractor trailer….. excuse me, transfer truck flipped over taking one of the mountainous turns a little too fast). It was so good to see my partner in crime, K, again! She’s happily living in Charlotte now, post-internship, and is working at a few nearby restaurants until the perfect RD job finds her.

We had lunch at Zada Janes – oh my goodness, fabulous place! Highly recommended! I couldn’t decide what to have (give me a menu that has more than 2 vegetarian choices and I don’t know what to do with myself!!) and eventually settled for the breakfast salad – salad greens topped with an egg, baked tofu, roast potatoes, and a biscuit, with sundried tomato vinaigrette. Wonderfully filling and deelish :)

Next up was Amelie’s French Bakery – an amazingly little cute place that never closes! Yes, they’re open 7 days a week, 24 hours a day! K and I both had a chocolate eclair, which of course was wonderful. The place looked like a perfect place to sit and read a book, meet a friend over coffee, or study. Must return someday….

The afternoon and evening was filled with various adventures, including a trip to Goodwill (found me a pair of GAP pants for $3!), Pier One, Brixx for dinner, and of course some gelato to round off the evening, haha :)

Tuesday: left K and Charlotte in the morning to drive up to Winston-Salem for my interview. It was a very long interview, almost 4 hours by the time I finished with the HR recruiter and left, but it went well. I wouldn’t be surprised if they offered me the job, but I really don’t think it’s for me. Also, I tried to drive around the city before heading back to Tennessee, but was really disappointed. I hope I just was in the wrong parts of town, but all I could see was run down areas and a very industrial looking downtown. Anyone know anything good about Winston-Salem? None of the clinical staff I met with during the interview actually lived in the city, so they couldn’t say much. Anyway, I think I’ll just keep on looking. I applied for some new jobs today, one as a school nutrition director back in Texas, and another with a surgery clinic in Atlanta. So we’ll see what happens.

Also took our crazy mini lab for a 4 mile walk today along the greenway. A very successful way to run her out of energy! Me too, probably. haha.

Better drive back to the farm for dinner. I believe a spinach and mushroom quiche is on the menu for tonight. yum!

Leave a Reply

