Weekend Good Eats and Cupcake Memorabilia!

Hi there!

I’m writing this post Sunday morning, but it probably won’t be posted until tomorrow, Monday, when I get to Charlotte and can find wireless for my laptop. I have some photos to share, and the dial-up connection here at the farm just won’t cut it for that.

I hope everyone has had a fun and relaxing weekend! We had some guests for the weekend – my mom’s best friend from college (and a Registered Dietitian!) and her teenage daughter (a vegetarian!). Not surprisingly, the weekend was full of good eats :)

My mother was inspired by a trip to a local bakery (Sweet Celebrations in Maryville, TN) to make a lemon chess pie for their arrival. It was pretty delicious. Apparently she was quite the pie baker back in her youth, but after one unfortunate dough incident, she never baked another pie. We’re glad this one was the return of Kitty’s pies!

STP82331

The weekend’s meals have been full of trusted, old favorites. Friday night I made my Faux Crab Cakes – a recipe that we’ve had at least once a week while we’ve been here. Great for those who are overwhelmed with a large summer supply of zucchini! As many of my friends know, crab cakes is one of the few items that I have dearly missed since becoming vegetarian. Luckily, these babies do the trick! The cakes are easy to put together:

  • 2 cups grated zucchini, pressed of excess water
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs (I use half panko, half italian seasoned)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp light mayo
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning (the secret ingredient!)
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 green onions chopped
  • 1/4 cup diced bell pepper (color of your choosing, red looks pretty)

You just mix it all together, form 8 patties, then fry them up in a little canola oil, and voila! We serve them with homemade cocktail sauce, but you could use whatever you want. Sorry, no picture :(

After dinner, I was presented with a "Congratulations for passing the RD exam!” gift from our guests. It’s a beautiful cookbook charm – complete with a cupcake on the front, and my initials engraved on the back “ES, RD”. Glad the comma is there and people don’t think I proudly promote End Stage Renal Disease. hahahaha

STP82336 STP82338

Isn’t it cute? Thanks guys!

We stopped at TJMaxx on our way to the movies Saturday afternoon (went to see Time Travelers Wife – a little confusing to follow, and could’ve been better with Bana’s aussie accent.. haha), where I picked up my latest happy bowl for hot breakfasts/beverages. Check it out!

STP82352

 I can’t wait to use it soon! This morning’s breakfast was a cup of earl grey tea, and the remnants of the delicious cinnamon raisin friendship bread that our weekend guests brought. In the words of my sister: om nom nom nom!

Speaking of my sister, she recently moved into her first apartment, and is about to start her second year of college next week. Word is that her and her roommates enjoy reading my blog – so a shout out to you girls! From what I’ve been hearing, there are going to be many good eats coming from that apartment this year. Maybe I can visit someday :)

Our post-movie dinner was at The Tomato Head, our favorite restaurant in town which has become a weekly event for us. I love their vegetarian friendly menu and haven’t had better tofu anywhere else! This time I left with one of their t-shirts. Maybe if I wear it during my next visit I can get a free dessert? Their vegan cookies have looked quite intriguing….

OK, the oven is calling my name. I’m baking my famous (well, in my family..) Black Bean & Sweet Potato Enchiladas for a nice hearty lunch before our guests hit the road. And then I’ll be busy this afternoon getting ready for my road trip and interview! Wish me luck in Winston-Salem!

Leave a Reply

