Today’s Studying

After yesterday’s high level of productivity, I decided to return to the library today. I was up, showered, dressed, fed and out the door by 10am with all my goodies. As I drive into the parking lot, I’m wondering… “where are all the cars?”. Oh but of course, the library is closed on Fridays. Ugh I hate that! I feel like I have run into this wall at least a half dozen times, and yet I still forget. If it were a Sunday, that I could remember, but why is it closed on Friday?

So anyway, I headed to downtown Nashville and my favorite library in the world. I would come here for my usual studying, except that you have to pay to park in the underground garage. 3 hours and $5 later… I felt like I studied well. Probably could’ve stayed a few more hours, but I was getting dehydrated, cold, and a litle freaked out. So, of course being downtown, the clientele at this library is significantly different from the suburban library I usually frequent. Many more homeless and low-income patrons. Which is fine, of course, the library is for us all :) But when this guy comes and sits at your table, right across from you, (when there are clearly other empty tables!) and stares at you for a good 45 minutes…. it’s weird. I don’t understand what was going on with him. He picked up a book, came and sat down, but I don’t think ever opened the book. He mostly rotated between: looking at the ceiling, looking at me, or sitting back in his chair and sighing. I google chatted with the boyfriend about my concern. He didn’t seem worried. Said that it would “be hard to kill someone in a public library”. Thanks for the support. Eventually I packed up and left, and was able to find a private study room, which was great aside from the fact that it was 30 degrees colder in there.

So studying went well. Then it was off to Germantown’s Cupcake Collection for my reward :) They had just been wiped out by a bunch of Green Hills moms, but luckily had a whole tray of my favorite – the Blackout cupcake. I can’t even describe how good those things are. Chocolate cupcakes, with chocolate ganache filling, chocolate buttercream frosting, and dipped in some type of chocolate crumbs. With a glass of milk, it’s pretty much heaven. Thank you Cupcake Collection.

Maybe I could be a dietitian for Cupcake Collection? mmm, I could offer my services and calculate nutrition information for them? Do cupcake customers really want to know the fat and calories in their ltitle treats? Yeah, probably not. Oh well. It’s such an adorable little establishment, completely run by the family (teenage kids man the cash register). Love it.

OK, better get back to studying. One of my fellow graduates/interns introduced me to online pacman, which may or may not cause problems in the future. I’m just saying…..

Leave a Reply

