Success with Black Bean Burgers!

Finally! I have conquered the art of black bean burgers. So long mushy, loose, ‘burgers’ that fall apart. Tonight I have mastered you.

stp82131Soooo good. Now of course, I referenced a few recipes, but in the end made it up, without measuring anything, so now I have no way to replicate this meal. Such a shame. But here’s my best guess as to what I did:

  1.  Sautee 1/4 cup diced onions with 1 minced garlic clove for 3-5 mins, then add a dash of cumin.
  2. Add 1 cup black beans (drained and rinsed from can).
  3. Transfer everything to food processor and pulse until combined
  4. Put this sticky mixture into a bowl and add 1/4 cup or so of breadcrumbs. Mix until it forms a nice ball and isn’t sticky.
  5. Divided into 2 burger patties
  6. Dredge each patty lightly in flour 
  7. Dip in egg wash
  8. Dredge in breadcrumbs
  9. Place in hot skillet with 1-2 tsp EVOO and cook 2-3 mins per side.
  10. Serve on bread with dijon mustard, lettuce and tomato. 
  11. Eat and enjoy!

They really were good! Of course, like most vegetarian burgers, still soft inside, but I think the flour/egg/breadcrumb crust really helped it all stay firm and unified. Nothing like a nice crusty black bean burger…. mmmmm.

I forgot that I had bought hamburger buns specifically for this meal… but when I realized that I would now be making 2 burgers, I decided to make it like an open-faced sandwich and save on the carbs. Plus… I may be eating cookie dough later tonight… so I’m saving a few calories for that little splurge…. if it even happens :)

One Response

  1. Pei would be very proud of your dinner documentation/photos…..

Leave a Reply

