Cooking for Nashville’s Foodies

It has been such a long time since I’ve written! I do apologize for that. Things have been crazy as ever. I miss writing here though, so hopefully I can get back into the swing of things. I’ve definitely noticed in the recent past from all my blog-reading (I somehow still find time for that!) that my blog is seriously lacking a particular focus. When I started the blog, it was to be about the adventures and experiences during my 10 month dietetic internship. However, it has turned out to be random writings of mine – very few on nutrition, more so about my favorite sporting events, my half-marathon training, cooking, baking, and inevitable weight gain due to caloric imbalance.

I just have trouble staying on topic! There are so many random things running through my head at all times (hence my constant stream of post-it lists and a planner full of bulleted and itemized to-dos). For instance, even though the topic of this post is my experience today at Second Harvest food bank and cooking dinner for the Food Security Partners meeting, what I really want to chat about is the announcement today that Roger Federer is going to have a baby!

I am, however, a very talented multi-tasker. Just to give you an example, I am currently:

  • writing this
  • printing off a bunch of articles from the 2007 Protein Summit to read on the airplane tomorrow (be ready for the protein RDA to change people!)
  • printing boarding pass for tomorrow’s flight
  • looking into tickets for the james morrison concert (soooo excited he’s coming to nashville!)
  • reading about the shocking news related to federer and hoping he can still win another grand slam
  • keeping my gmail and facebook open for any updates
  • checking tomorrow’s weather in nashville and houston
  • looking into anti-virus software to save my poor computer

Impressed? Maybe. Maybe not. Maybe you’re just bored because you saw the title of this post and was hoping that I’d actually address the topic. Haha. Me?

One of my friends and I decided that we should start a blog, written by 3 of us VUMC dietetic interns. But this blog is actually going to have a purpose, a focus, and a cute catchy name. So don’t be scared. I’ll save all my random thoughts and rants for this one :)

Leave a Reply

