Nothing like a hot oven to keep you warm…

This Nashville winter has been pretty darn cold. In fact, I would say it’s the coldest winter of my life – except I forget that I spent 5 years of my childhood in London. So while I don’t remember those winters, I’m sure they beat middle tennessee’s. 

Regardless, it’s cold, and I’m huddled in my miniscule 1960s kitchen right now, listening to Simon and Garfunkel, wrapped in a scarf, and baking my sister’s wonderful pumpkin chocolate-chip cookies, trying to ignore the fact that it’s snowing outside. Ovens really do a great job of keeping one warm when the 1960s building’s heating system leaves much to be desired. 

So, at 9:15pm, what are some things I’ve learned today?

  1. I’m quite the fan of earl grey tea. Maybe it was growing up in London… who knows. 
  2. I learned today that you can, in fact, bring your own mug to coffee shops! This has been my latest concern, the environmentalist waste-phobic person I am. I’m proud of my non-use of plastic bags now – even though the trunk of my car is now like a canvas/reusable bag cemetary. They’re everywhere! All shapes, sizes, materials. But that’s good! And with my reusable sandwich wrap (which gets compliments, thank you very much), I rarely use a plastic sandwich bag. Tupperware has eliminated the use for ziploc bags, my Klean Kanteen prevents me from ordering drinks in the cafeteria or having to throw away plastic cups. But the latest dilemma has been my frequent coffee stops, and the fact that I’m throwing away a cup everyday! And those little cardboard cup “belts” or whatever you call them. I actually found a pattern to make your own (which I have requested for my upcoming birthday). And websites do exist to promote the use of your own mug at coffee shops. So… I’ll give it a try and let you know how it goes!
  3. The news is just depressing. I actually sat down and watched over an hour of the news – both national and local. There’s nothing good out there to hear about. Everyone’s losing their jobs and Kentucky people still have no power. My black bean corn chips and salsa were good though. haha

I think 3 lessons for the day is sufficient. Tomorrow should be a fun day – below freezing all day, and we’re out driving to WIC offices and food banks. Lovely. Good thing I’m bringing along my pumpkin choc-chip cookies for us interns :)

3 Responses

  1. I used to have bagnesia (a person’s forgetfulness to grab their reusable bags) too! Just try the Bagnesia Reminder Kit and you’ll never forget them again- plus you’ll be organized and stylish.
    http://www.bagnesia.com

  2. Those pumpkin cookies were mhmmm good. Although, my growing ‘teachers pooch’ didn’t appreciate it!

  3. Thanks! I actually just finished baking another dessert tonight… haha. Valentine’s Day calls for sugary goodness :)

Leave a Reply

