Saltine Challenge

I’m back in Texas with the family for the holidays. And one of the things on my Christmas to-do list was to try the saltine challenge with my family members. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the challenge, it involves trying to eat (and swallow!) 6 saltine crackers in 60 seconds, without any water/beverages. 

I presented it to my dad, who said it sounded like a “piece of cake”. After a trip to Walmart for saltines, and our cell-phone ready to act as a stopwatch, my sister and I watched as my dad suffered but managed to leave only 1 cracker on the table when time was called (although he still had a mouth full of crumbs). It’s amazing how decievingly simple it appears, but man those crackers dry your mouth out! I tried it, and got 4 of them in my mouth, but probably only 2 actually swallowed. 

I youtubed and googled it, and have yet to see anyone successfully complete the challenge.

Leave a Reply

