Fall is here!

October is here. On one hand I’m excited and enjoying the beautiful fall weather – I can walk to work in the morning, and more importantly walk home in the afternoon without being drenched in sweat. On the other hand, I’m still in disbelief that Halloween is around the corner, the kick-off of the holiday season. How does time fly by so fast?

I’m still working to decide whether I will participate in Halloween festivities this year. The interns are throwing a big Halloween dinner party, so if I’m going to go I need to come up with a witty costume idea. Honestly, I don’t think I have dressed up for Halloween since 1998 or 1999 – growing up overseas (where Halloween is not celebrated and trick or treating does not exist) left me without much need to make a big deal out of the holiday. I believe the last time I dressed up was in the middle of my office supply obsession, so I went as a big yellow post-it note. haha! That was probably also the year I had a letter to the editor published in the city’s newspaper in support of the largest office-supply store in Australia. Oh yes… it’s true.

Of course, there is one thing that I always do for Halloween every year – carve pumpkins! I love it. Not sure why, as I really don’t have any creative ability at all (hence the use of stencils in recent years) but I still love the whole experience: the smell of freshly cut pumpkins, the slimy feeling of the pumpkin ‘guts’ etc. Probably mostly just the fun memories year-to-year: freshman year in college I purchased a cheap motorized carving tool at WalMart (think mini, handheld chainsaw) that provided for plenty of fun memories… until I killed the motor while cleaning the guts out of it.
So anyway, I need to find me a pumpkin in Nashville to carve, and a good stencil :)

What else do I love about fall? Definitely the sweaters. And this past weekend was the official closet-swap weekend; all the sweaters emerged from hibernation, and the sleeveless shirts and capri pants, shorts, and skirts were put away. How exciting.

Now all we need is fall food! Mmmm.. I was just thinking about spaghetti squash yesterday, maybe I’ll go in search of one this weekend to cook. Can’t go wrong with spaghetti squash! And time to go buy my giant cannister of sugar-free Swiss Miss, so I can have my morning cup of hot chocolate while checking my e-mail. And this year I don’t live with a roommate who decides to ‘share’ my swiss miss, which means going through my supply in just a matter of weeks, and then not replacing it. I should have known something was up with her – she’s one of those people who actually measures with the 1/4 cup of swiss miss and 8 ounces of hot water. Who does that!?!?!?!

Time to go catch the shuttle and get to work. I have patients to see. Today is the IBD clinic in the morning, and bariatric surgery patients in the afternoon. Fun work as an RD2B – saving the world one calorie at a time!

Leave a Reply

