The internship is here and we are ready!

I realized that the whole reason I started this blog was to record my experiences during my dietetic internship, and as I look through the past posts, I have hardly ever mentioned it. Granted that it didn’t start until this past Friday, but still…

We had our first day of orientation on Friday. K and I are lucky enough to catch the med center’s free shuttle and not have to worry about driving or parking at all! We met the interns in the lobby of the clinic, all anxiously awaiting what lies ahead. So much for us getting there early and being the first ones! Getting there 15 minutes ahead of time, half the class was already waiting. If there’s one thing I’ve learned so far from meeting all the interns, it’s that these girls (and 1 guy) are smart, organized, and on the ball!

After filling out lots of paperwork and writing multiple checks for roughly $4,000, we left our first day of orientation overwhelmed and broke. Our $90 monthly stipend is going to be fun… let’s just think of it as money to save, and not to spend, because really, it could go so fast! I’m already trying to be as frugal as possible, resumed clipping coupons, and have limited my shopping excursions. But I can already tell you exactly how to get to all nearby malls and shopping centers, including the nearby outlet mall (see, that’s a smart shopper!).

This upcoming week is more of the same: orientation programs, health screenings, get-to-know-you type things. Thursday morning we have to meet at Cracker Barrel for a true southern breakfast experience, which is intended to be an educational experience for the northerns / midwesterners in the group. K isn’t looking forward to it so much. Me? Give me scrambled eggs and biscuits and I’m a happy camper!

I think all in all it’s going to be a great year. Crazy busy, yes. But rewarding too. I know most of the girls are ready to be done with school/internships/part-time jobs, and enter the ‘real world’ with a regular pay check. I’m not so sure that I fall into that crowd. I really could stay in school and part-time jobs for many years to come… haha. But I know my mom is reading this, so “don’t worry mother, I’ll get a real job in a year, so you don’t have to pay for me anymore… but don’t be surprised when I return to grad school later on!”.

Leave a Reply

