Dinner and olympics

Mmmm.. that’s the dinner I just finished. It was excellent. My inspiration came from another blogger who had created a flatbread cobb salad. It’s not really a cobb salad, since I don’t eat chicken or bacon, and I didn’t use a pizza crust like she did. I used a whole wheat naan from Whole Foods (or what I really believe to be “whole paycheck” after paying $5 for 3 on-the-vine tomatoes yesterday), topped with olive oil, garlic, pepper, italian seasoning and parmesan, baked for 5 minutes, then topped with baby greens (dressed with a homemade red-wine vinaigrette), chopped tomato, sweet corn straight off the cob, hardboiled egg, and avocado. Yum yum yum! A little messy to eat, but that’s OK. Went along perfectly with watching the men’s synchro diving tonight :)

The weather has been lovely here, hasn’t gotten up to 90 for the last 4 days or so, which I’m very thankful for. Today’s also the first day back at school for Nashville area schools. I have decided that the condo above me must be a family with children. Walking back from my car yesterday, I think I saw some bunk beds in the room above me, which would explain all the thudding that goes on. Sure enough, the little sasquatches woke me up this morning as they got ready for school. I guess I may not even need to set an alarm clock, just hope that my rotations have a similar start time to the littles’ schoolday. And again at 4pm, they were back from school and resumed jumping off the bunk beds and running around. Maybe they’re just really excited about the Olympics, I’ll excuse them if that’s the case.

Speaking of the Olympics, it’s pretty much been my life for the last few days. The mens 4×100 freestyle relay last night has to be one of the most exciting swimming events I’ve ever seen. I was standing in front of my TV, jumping up and down and screaming. I was almost as excited as the oversized terrier. Well, not quite that much because I’m not trying to win 8 gold medals, but you know, pretty excited. I’ve been watching beach volleyball too, since that seems to be the popular olympic sport these days, but it’s not thrilling. Which reminds me – can anyone explain to me why the American men played with their sunglasses without lenses? They looked pretty silly with only frames on…

In tennis news, poor Lindsey Davenport had to pull out of the singles for an injury, but is still playing doubles. Both Nadal and Federer won their first matches, although Nadal lost a set to his opponent. Of course I really want to see Federer win gold, that’s really what his psyche needs at this point so he can get his rear back in gear and knock Nadal off the #1. Come on Roger!

I went on a good walk this morning, almost 4 miles I think and no problem whatsoever with my hip. So I now pronounce myself cured and able to do another half-marathon. yay. I walked through Vandy’s campus this morning, which was pretty dead since classes haven’t started up yet, and Centennial Park. Love seeing the Parthenon in the morning, I could get used to this life! There’s also Shakespeare in the Park starting up this week, so maybe K and I can check it out before the internship starts and our fun ends.

OK, that’s all from me. Back to the olympics-watching. Go USA!

Leave a Reply

