Aldi, Kroger, Harris Teeter, oh my!

So, in my 3 days of being up in Nashville, I feel like I have experienced more grocery stores than many of the residents of this city! I love having so many options of places to go. The Harris Teeter in Hillsboro Village has turned out to be the quickest grocery store. This was proved true tonight when I started to cook my dinner at 7:45 and realized that I didn’t have soy sauce. Project Runway was coming on at 8, I don’t have DVR anymore to pause the TV or record the show, and my tofu had already been drained and pressed, so it was go time! Turns out that I can drive to Harris Teeter in 4 minutes, get in and out in 2 minutes, and back in time to catch most of the show. Nicely done Matrix!

I also went to Aldi and Kroger today to complete the triad of grocery stores for one day. It was my first experience in an Aldi store. The shopping carts that required quarters to use brought back memories from early childhood – perhaps a store in New Orleans had these too? I don’t remember. But I do like the bargains at this place. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find everything on my list, so I headed to Kroger, the old standby choice for food. I still have yet to go to Whole Foods although K’s parents gave me a $100 gift card, which I am sooo excited about using!! And I believe a Publix and Trader Joes will be coming this fall. Sort of related: I met another resident in the building this morning while doing laundry, a nice woman who moved here from California 12 years ago and currently works in the Whole Foods bakery. She gave us lots of tips on places to go and see in the city. Helpful advice is always appreciated! I’m just secretly hoping that she can get me rejects or leftovers from WF’s bakery, oh that would be lovely :)

In other news, the heat is still extreme here. There is no AC vent anywhere near our kitchen, so the only way to keep air moving is to use the violent ceiling fan that attacks open cabinet doors. I was in the kitchen tonight making my favorite Athens recipe (The Grit‘s “Golden Bowl”), as well as a new recipe for Chocolate Maple Banana Bread, while still trying to watch Project Runway, and boy does that tiny kitchen heat up! Time for a cool-down now.

Leave a Reply

