Save the world, eat a PB&J sandwich!

Isn’t this a great idea? I came across the PB&J Campaign yesterday and just want to spread the word. It’s for those of us who want to help the environment and are looking for easy changes we can slip into our everyday life without really feeling like a tree-hugger. By eating a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch instead of a hamburger or ham&cheese sandwich, you can help the world by saving 2.5 pounds of greenhouse gas emissions and 133 gallons of water! How amazing is that!?

Now, the good news is that it doesn’t have to be a PB&J; the benefit is from eating a plant-based meal instead of an animal-based meal (anything centered around meat, poultry, fish, dairy, eggs). And for those of you who have no idea how eating peanut butter instead of cheese in a sandwich saves water and energy, it’s all related to the efficiency of growing crops for food versus raising livestock. The amount of energy it takes to raise a cow is mind-bogglingly huge, let alone all the water that must be used for irrigating the fields, washing everything down, and what’s used in the processing. For the same amount of calories, and a lot less energy used, you could just eat plants :) If you want to know more about the environmental aspect to vegetarianism (since my one-sentence description was pretty basic!), PB&J’s campaign has a good explanation.

I think one of the great things about this campaign is that it’s showing people that they can help make a difference one meal at a time. So you don’t have to go vegetarian or vegan if you don’t want to give up your favorite animal products, but by eating more meatless meals you are helping out! In fact, just eating 5 more plant-based meals in a month saves more water than using one of those eco-friendly low-flow showerheads!

So… to do some number crunching: I’ve been vegetarian since January 1st, 2007. That’s approximately 555 days of meatless eating and 1668 meatless meals (minus my “lard” mishap in Switzerland last summer). To calculate my contribution, I need to figure out how many truly plant-based meals I’ve had. I may be a veggie, but I love my cheese. And I have eaten a lot of grilled cheese sandwiches in those last 555 days, let me tell you! So let’s say that out of my 1668 meatless meals, 70% did not have dairy/eggs as a key player. That would be… let’s round off… somewhere around 1100 plant-based meals I have eaten in the last year and a half. So how much have I saved?

2750 pounds of carbon dioxide emissions and 146,300 gallons of water! That’s equivalent for me not driving my Matrix at all for the next 4 1/2 months! not bad at all. So now when people ask me why on earth I’m a vegetarian, how can I live like this, aren’t I just hungry all the time and crave bacon cheeseburgers, I can tell them this. :) And you can too by having a PB&J more often!

Leaving you with a video, RD2B :)

One Response

  1. I often eat PB and J just for fun. Thought I’d throw that in there.

    Oh and I feed it to my hubby. yay me!

Leave a Reply

