It was a pesto kind of night…

I am so proud of myself for my latest adventure. My mom and sister went out to dinner last night, leaving me to cook for myself. Don’t feel sorry for me, there are many times when I’d much prefer to be left to my own devices with a kitchen full of food, and no one’s food interests (or probably disinterests) to keep in mind.

Trying to figure out what to eat… I looked outside at my pitiful basil plant, who doesn’t enjoy the texas heat anymore than I do. I felt I should save the poor dear and allow it to become the star of my meal. So… I quickly googled “pesto recipes” and decided to make my own pesto. Mmm Mmm Mmm.

My recipe:

  • 2 cups basil leaves (here’s where I ran into problems… more on that later)
  • 3 tablespoons pine nuts
  • salt and pepper (we don’t measure such things)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmiggiano Reggiano
  • 1/2 cup olive oil (also a problem)

And no, I didn’t hand crush/chop this, I didn’t use a mortar and pestle, I used my lovely CuisinArt food processor which did a marvelous job. You basically start with the basil, pine nuts, salt, pepper and garlic and pulse. Then stream in the olive oil to make a nice paste, and then add the cheese last. OK, so the problem is I don’t know how to measure 2 cups of basil leaves. I practically stripped my plant naked, but the leaves could either be one cup really packed, or 2 cups very loosely packed. I didn’t feel like investigating the matter, so I just chucked it all in the food pro. It all looked lovely and pesto-y, until it came time to stream in the EVOO, of which I had measured out 1/2 cup exactly (I am an RD2B remember). After just adding 1/4 cup, it was already looking too oily, so I stopped. I guess I really hadn’t used enough basil! haha.

In the end, I had wonderful pesto linguine for dinner. I also had pesto for lunch today, on top of some crusty ciabatta bread with melted mozzarella and sliced tomatoes. Mmmm :)

Update on the cookie adventure: the dough is resting now, and the cookies will be baked tomorrow. I don’t know how many cookies will actually survive to the oven, since my family members keep disappearing to the garage with spoons….

One Response

  1. On my last trip to the garage, there was a ransom note in the fridge and no mixing bowl to be seen! Its been dough-napped!!

Leave a Reply

