Cookie Adventure: Part I

Back to my latest reading: The New York Times.

Recall that they recently posted an article containing the secrets to making mouth-watering chocolate chip cookies. Here were their secrets:

  1. Let the dough rest 36 hours
  2. Make big cookies!
  3. Serve cookies warm!

#3 is no secret really, everyone prefers a warm gooey cookie to one that’s crunchy and cold. I remember in my college dining halls, my friends and I would always microwave the cookies if they weren’t quite warm enough (and then some of us topped it with ice cream….).

The first 2 secrets have to do with the science of cooking. Resting the dough allows all the liquid to be absorbed into the dough, resulting in much tastier cookies. And the size of the cookie can also impact it’s result, by giving different textures. The article describes it as having different texture “zones”: crunchy on the outer perimeter, soft and gooey inside, and then the all-important zone where those 2 textures converge. They recommend 5 inch cookies for optimal textual qualities.

So, I’m embarking on my cookie journey today. Obviously since the dough has to rest for 36 hours, I’m only making the dough today, the baking will come later. The recipe that the NYTimes gives makes 20 of these giant cookies. It also uses 2 1/2 sticks of butter! Which is… (number crunching)… 1.2 tablespoons of butter per cookie. And so I think I’ll just stick with my regular favorite cookie recipe from Hilary Clinton. Not only does hers have less butter (it calls for shortening, but I can’t bring myself to use that stuff) and make more cookies (even if they are smaller), it also has oats. And what do oats do? Yes that’s right class, oats contain soluble fiber, which can help us lower our cholesterol! Probably not a good RD2B for recommending we eat Hilaries to help our lipid profile, but it can help our feelings of guilt!

So anyway, off to the grocery store now to get my ingredients. I’ll let you know how the baking goes! That is, if the dough can survive 36 hours in the fridge… haha

2 Responses

  1. Ooh, letting the dough rests for 36 hours sounds interesting. Tell me how it goes after the resting! If it does turn out to be better, I’ll probably let my future cookies have a rest before they go into the oven! Though I have to agree, I probably won’t be able to let the dough survive for 36 hours… :p

  2. Letting it rest allows your family members to sneak into the refrgerator in the garage, spoon in hand, and stuff their cheeks with cold creamy dough before going into a diabetic coma….

Leave a Reply

