Thrifted Table Makeover

I’m back!

Sorry for the 2 week hiatus. Things have been busy here, mainly concerning Harley’s health (complications from heartworm treatment –> 8 days at vet’s intensive care unit, $1000 in bills, and 7 daily medications).

But, Harley is feeling better these days, and ready to be back on the blog! He also wants me to show the final result from my side table makeover. Remember this $8 guy from the Salvation Army?

DSCN1592

Well, it looks much better now (as does Harley).

But first…

Today, my sister took the GRE, since she’s copying me and planning on going to graduate school too (haha). Harley and Sheff sent her a good luck message this morning:

GRE03

GRE02

Aren’t they sweet? Thanks for their good wishes, Jenna ended up doing fantastically on the GRE!

OK, back to the table…

DSCN1592

So… we I sanded it, removed the weird side handles, and painted it white.

Then, I was all set to decoupage the top surface with a fun fabric. But… it was hard to decide on a color theme, not knowing what the apartment will look like (what stuff my roommate might bring, what season of pyrex I will be displaying, etc… haha!).

And so… my ingenious mother had the idea to fit a piece of glass instead, allowing me to switch out decorative fabric or paper as the season changes. Thankfully, my local glass shop is very affordable, and cut me a piece of glass, and polished the edges for under $5!

Ready for the finished product?

DSCN1668

This is my favorite “look” thus far.  Bright colors of vintage kitchenware, on a white background.

DSCN1663

But we also have the green / nature look:

DSCN1659

And this blue/pink/green paisley look:

DSCN1658 

But really, it only costs $1 in scrapbook paper to change the look, so I could come up with endless possibilities!

So….
Table: $8
Paint supplies: $5
Glass: $5
Paper choices: $3
Total project cost: $21

Brilliant, right? Since my list blog post, I’ve also purchased this wonderful mid-century modern coffee table, which I’m planning on using at the foot of my bed in the new apartment. I would show a picture of it, but it’s currently covered in junk that is going to be donated to a thrift store shortly.

Photos to come, as I clean things out and start packing (ugh).

2 Responses

  1. do not donate any of my junk! err, stuff.

  2. I love the side table makeover! I love the different patterned papers you’ve used, too. How kitschy!

    Also, best wishes to your doggy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

